Distracting the Deputy Blog Tour

Welcome to the Distracting the Deputy Blog Tour and Giveaway.

 

Information and images for the 2021 Distracting the Deputy Blog Tour are below

Distracting the Deputy One Sheet

Distracting the Deputy Press Release

Distracting the Deputy Press Kit

Distracting the Deputy Blog Tour (in copy and paste HTML format)

 

ABOUT THE BOOK


Book: Distracting the Deputy

Series: Summer Creek (Book 4)

Author: Shanna Hatfield

Publisher: Wholesome Hearts Publishing

Release Date: June 22, 2021

Genre: Contemporary Romance (Western / Clean and Wholesome/ Small Town)

 

Book Description:

SHORT:

He’s sworn to uphold the law. Her life is riddled with closely guarded secrets. When the past catches up to her, will she rush to him or run away?

LONG:

Trouble is coming, but for whom?

When he’s not evading grabby-handed octogenarians, mentoring troubled teens, or rescuing rascally youngsters from disaster, Deputy Knox Strickland can be found upholding the law in the eastern Oregon region he patrols. He avoids making plans for tomorrow, focusing instead on doing his best today. Then one chance encounter with a beautiful woman in a wheat field turns his world upside down. Knox is left questioning what secrets she’s hiding, and how hard he’ll have to work to scale the fortress she’s built around her heart.

Zadie Redmond isn’t like most women. A life spent looking over her shoulder has destroyed the promising future she’d once envisioned. Her days are spent leading hunting and fishing adventures or teaching tiny ballerinas the proper way to plié. She fills her evenings with do-it-yourself projects while worrying about the day her past catches up with her. In an unexpected moment, the local deputy swoops into her world like a storybook hero and she knows nothing will ever be the same. Zadie will do anything to keep Knox safe from the danger lurking in the shadows, even if it destroys her chance at love.

Will Knox convince Zadie she can trust him with her secrets and her heart?

A sweet romance full of quirky small-town fun, Distracting the Deputy is a story of hope, help, and hanging on to what matters most.

 

The book includes a Reader’s Guide, perfect for book club discussions.

For a limited time, the eBook is available at the discounted price of just $2.99.

Purchase today on:

Amazon | B&N | Apple | Kobo

Add to Goodreads

 

“When I feel the need for inspiration and comfort I reach for a book by Shanna Hatfield.”

Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

 

LINKS:

Amazon – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B093Z9FQDS/

Applehttps://books.apple.com/us/book/distracting-the-deputy/id1566147008

B&Nhttps://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/distracting-the-deputy-shanna-hatfield/1139398178

Kobohttps://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/distracting-the-deputy

Smashwordshttps://www.smashwords.com/books/view/1082387

Websitehttps://shannahatfield.com/book/distracting-the-deputy/ 

Goodreadshttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/57923263-distracting-the-deputy

ABOUT THE SERIES

Summer Creek is one of those small towns—the kind brimming with quirky inhabitants, pets with personalities (like a meandering goat named Ethel), meddling matchmakers, tumbling-down old buildings, and dreams. So many dreams. These sweet, uplifting romances explore the ties that bind a community together when they unite for a common purpose and open their hearts to unexpected possibilities. Heart, humor, and hope weave through each story, touching the lives of those who call Summer Creek home.

Readers who love Debbie Macomber’s Cedar Cove series and RaeAnne Thayne’s Haven Point series will enjoy coming home to Summer Creek.

Catching the Cowboy  (Book 1) on sale for a limited time for 99 cents!

Rescuing the Rancher (Book 2)

Protecting the Princess (Book 3)

Distracting the Deputy (Book 4)

TOUR GIVEAWAY

For a chance to win, fill out this form.  The prize includes autographed copies of the Summer Creek series, Dilettante peppermint truffle crémes (these are SO good!), a cute notebook, a bottle of You’re the One lotion, a Hopeless Romantic dish towel and potholder set, and a swag bag to carry it all! (Value $100+)
One entry per person. Entries must be received by June 30, 2021. Winners will be notified by July 15 and will be given 48 hours to respond or risk forfeiture of prize. Void where prohibited by law or logistics. The giveaway is subject to the policies found here.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

USA Today bestselling author Shanna Hatfield is a farm girl who loves to write. Her sweet historical and contemporary romances are filled with sarcasm, humor, hope, and hunky heroes. When Shanna isn’t dreaming up unforgettable characters, twisting plots, or covertly seeking dark, decadent chocolate, she hangs out with her beloved husband, Captain Cavedweller.

Shanna loves to hear from readers. Follow her online at:

Website | Facebook | Newsletter | BookBub | Pinterest | Goodreads

#summercreek

BOOK QUOTES

 

He drank in the sight of her, feeling like he’d happened upon something both unexpected and beautiful.

 

“If the day ever comes when you need to run, I hope you’ll run straight to me.”

 

She caught a whiff of his fragrance, a hint of his smile, and had known right then he was both harmless and extremely dangerous.

 

“You’re like a great oak tree with roots so deep, it would kill you to be transplanted anywhere else.”

 

Idiot was not the first, or even fortieth, word Zadie would have chosen to describe Knox’s appearance. Hunk. Hottie. Captain Cutie all came to mind.

 

She sighed with such emotion, it seemed like she’d ripped the air from the midst of her soul.

 

Zadie Redmond was a mystery to him. One he felt an immediate, growing need to solve.

 

She trusted him, and he loved her, and for tonight, that was more than enough.

 

She longed to love and be loved, to know she was someone’s reason to smile, but it wasn’t meant to be. Not now. Maybe not ever.

BOOK EXCERPTS

If things had gone according to plan, she’d be performing as a prima ballerina, dancing on stages across the globe. Instead, she was remodeling a home she would most likely never own, scraping pond scum from beneath her chipped nails, and teaching the basics of ballet to a group of country kids who arrived for their lessons wearing cowboy boots with their leotards.

 

***

 

Something about the strong, square jawline seemed oddly familiar. Then he looked over his shoulder, and Zadie’s jaw fell open. The hunky guy in the hero costume wasn’t a stranger after all.

“Knox? He’s Captain America?” Zadie whispered, feeling things she’d rather not acknowledge or explain, even to herself.

“The one and only,” Jossy said in a sing-song voice, then gave Zadie a nudge forward just as a loud pop signaled the beginning of the parade.

Zadie found herself pushed along and glanced up to see Knox looking down at her. He’d somehow finagled his way back through the line to walk beside her.

“You are the most gorgeous fairy I’ve ever seen,” he said, giving her an admiring glance.

Her cheeks warmed as she tried not to stare at the muscles of his chest, perfectly outlined by the tight T-shirt. “You look …”

“Ridiculous,” Knox grumbled. “My friend Wes’ wife suggested this would be a good costume. I already had the pants. The shirt and other stuff were easy to find when I was in Portland. She told me to get the shirt on the snug side.” He sighed and swept a hand in front of his chest. “I look like an idiot.”

Idiot was not the first, or even fortieth, word Zadie would have chosen to describe Knox’s appearance. Hunk. Hottie. Captain Cutie all came to mind.

 

***

 

“You mean you willingly got in a car with Mrs. Dunigan?”

“Reluctantly is a better word. And I made Mrs. Finley promise she wouldn’t let Mrs. Dunigan sit in the front seat. The old flirt sat behind me and kept running her fingers across my neck and squeezing my shoulders the whole time I was driving. That woman is a menace. She’s lucky I don’t file a restraining order against her. The way she was touching me, freaking me out, it’s a good thing I didn’t run Mrs. Finley’s car into a snowbank.”

“Oh, you’d be dead if you did that. Mrs. Finley and her friends would clobber you to death with those fifty-pound handbags they carry, or, at the very least, pool their funds to hire a hit man to take you out for committing such an atrocious crime.”

 

***

 

He could tell the moment Zadie realized she wasn’t alone. Unlike most people who would have been embarrassed and made excuses for trespassing, she opened one eye to see who had dared interrupt her moment of solitude in the fading August sun.

“I know I shouldn’t be out here, Deputy Strickland, but the wheat field called to me, and I had to answer,” she said with a sassy grin.

“Called to you?” He spoke in a hushed tone. Something about this evening warranted whispers, maybe even a few secrets.

Rather than answer, Zadie closed her eyes and returned to brushing her fingers over the beards of wheat in a light caress. For a fleeting moment, Knox wondered what it would be like to feel her touch against his skin.

“What’s going to happen next?” he asked in mock seriousness. “Is the hayfield over there going to serenade you?”

Zadie laughed softly. “No. Don’t be absurd. The scrub jays have done a superb job of that.”

He stood perfectly still, listening with his heart as much as his ears. Birds sang to each other. Water chink-chinked out of a pivot. The breeze wound through the wheat, making it almost sound like a pair of brush sticks scratching across a drum.

Absorbed in the moment, he finally turned his focus back to Zadie. “For the record, I’m off duty, so I suppose that means we’re both trespassing.” He gave her another long glance. “What are you really doing out here?”

Zadie opened her eyes and turned to face him. “I’ve never walked through a field of ripe wheat. It seemed like a great evening to cross that experience off my list of things I want to someday do. It’s magnificent, like the breeze and the birds and the land make their own music.”

Uncertain what to say in response to a statement both poetic and peculiar, Knox merely nodded.

 

ADDITIONAL GRAPHICS

 

 

 

 

#summercreek, #distractingthedeputy, #wholesomeheartspublishing

Like this article?

Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on Pinterest
Share on email
Share by Email

2 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *